John Paul I Foundation names scientific committee – Vatican News

By Vatican News

The newly formed Vatican John Paul I Foundation released a statement on Wednesday. It states that on the 42nd anniversary of Pope John Paul I’s pontificate, they are pleased to communitate the members of the Foundation’s Ccientific Committee.

These persons were appointed by Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Secretary of State and President of the new Foundation, during a meeting of the Administrative Board that took place on 3 July.

The people who make up this Scientific Committee will serve for a five-year period.

Dr Stefania Falasca, Vice President of the Foundation, will coordinate the new Scientific Committee which is made up of:

  • Professor Carlo Ossola, Philology Professor, Collège de France, Paris

  • Professor Dario Vitali, Director of the Department of Dogmatic Theology, Pontifical Gregorian University, Rome

  • Msgr. Gilfredo Marengo, Vice President of Rome’s Pontifical John Paul II Theological Institute for Marriage and Family Sciences

  • Professor Mauro Velati, collaborator of the John XXIII Foundation for Religious Sciences and the cause of canonization of John Paul I relating to the Venetian years.

  • Fr Diego Sartorelli, Director of the Library and Historical Archive of the Patriarchate of Venice

  • Dr Loris Serafini, Archivist, Director of the Albino Luciani Museum in Canale d’Agordo

The statement also reads that the Prefect of the Vatian’s Apostolic Archives, Bishop Sergio Pagano, and the Prefect of the Vatican’s Apostolic Library, Fr Cesare Pasini, will also play a role on the Scientific Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *